Connect with us

How to

3 Steps How to Delete Twitter Account Permanently Now?

Published

on

delete your Twitter account permanently
0Shares

Do you want to know How to Delete Twitter Account Permanently?

Since it arrived on the market, Twitter has quickly become a favorite to a lot of people. This microblogging platform has gained a huge reputation in the world of social media over the years.

However, there could arise the need for you to get rid of your Twitter account.

No matter your reason – be it a platform switch, starting afresh, or anything else – you might wish to terminate your account as fast and hassle-free as possible.

If you are unsure of the method to delete Twitter account permanently, don’t worry. In this tutorial, we will teach you the steps to achieve your goal.

Step by step on how to delete Twitter account permanently

delete Twitter account permanently

Getting rid of your Twitter account wouldn’t be much of a problem if you know what you are doing. Now what’s interesting is that you have to deactivate your account first before the deletion process begins.

Deactivating your account will serve as a notification to Twitter that you no longer wish to use their platform.

So as soon as the deactivation happens, your profile, as well as Tweets, would become invisible to other Twitter users.

However, Twitter won’t fully delete your account until 30 days after the deactivation. Here are the necessary steps you got to follow to deactivate and eventually, delete Twitter account permanently:

Using a web browser

  • First, sign in to your Twitter account.
  • After signing in, tap/click on the three dots you see on your left sidebar and choose ‘Settings and privacy.’
  • Next, pick the ‘Deactivate your account option and after reading the info, tap/click on ‘Deactivate.’
  • Now, you will have to confirm your password in the dedicated field.
  • Finally, tap/click on the ‘Deactivate’ button once more to finish the process.

Delete Twitter Account Permanently

Picture Source: www.androidheadlines.com

Using the mobile app

  • Open your Twitter app and log in to your account.
  • Tap on your profile photo and pick the ‘Settings and privacy’ option from the subsequent menu.
  • Now, look under your username to find the ‘Account’ option. Tap on it.
  • After doing that, tap ‘Deactivate your account.’
  • Read the info on your mobile screen and select ‘Deactivate.’
  • Type your password in the given field when prompted to do so and tap ‘Deactivate’ again to finalize the deactivation.

Delete Twitter Account Permanently

Picture Source: www.techunwrapped.com

Following either of the two methods would effectively delete Twitter account permanently.

The aftermath of deactivating your account

As we already mentioned, Twitter makes your profile and Tweets invisible to others once you deactivate your account.

After 30 days have passed, it will initiate a full deletion after which your Twitter account will be gone forever. It could, however, take another week or so for the dull deletion to finish.

Anyway, if you change your mind within these 30 days, you can reverse the process by reactivating your account. For that purpose, you simply have to sign in to your account again and confirm reactivation.

This could prove to be beneficial if the deactivation was by mistake or if you want to keep using the platform.

Also, remember that during these 30 days, your email ID will stay associated with the Twitter account in concern. So you won’t be able to use that email ID to open another Twitter account.

delete Twitter account permanently

Note that some profiles and Tweets may still show up on the internet even after the deactivation – either in search engines or internet archives.

Some old tweets stay in internet archives. For instance, till 2017, the Library of Congress was known for archiving all Tweets out there.

However, that practice is discontinued now. Another service called Wayback Machine archives some selected Tweets. But the way it handpicks the Tweets to archive is still unrevealed.

But it’s unlikely that your Tweets would be chosen to archive unless you are a politician, famous person, or some other public figure. However, there’s the ‘Save Page Now’ option that lets users archive a particular URL.

If that’s how some of your Tweets end up being archived there, it would be hard to remove them. It’s because Wayback Machine only removes the content the domain owner wants to be removed.

But with search engines like Google, things are easier. If some of your Tweets still show up in the search results even after deleting those Tweets or deactivating your account, don’t panic.

Follow these steps to have them removed:

  • Sign in to your Google account.
  • Next, copy the Twitter URL you wish to get rid of.
  • After that, visit Google’s ‘Remove outdated content’ page and paste the copied URL.
  • Finally, click on the ‘REQUEST REMOVAL’ button to remove that URL.

Delete Twitter Account Permanently

Picture Source: www.gsqi.com

Like Google, Yahoo! and Bing also provide similar URL removing facilities. But remember that you can only request to delete Tweets that are no longer on the platform. Any Tweet that’s still there can’t be removed this way.

Saving data before you delete Twitter account permanently

Even when you’ve decided to leave Twitter forever, chances are you’d still like to keep some of your data.

Thankfully, with Twitter, it is pretty much effortless to save or download all your data that including your texts, media, Tweets, and so on. Below are the steps to save your Twitter data:

  • Open Twitter and navigate to the icon that resembles three dots.
  • Click on ‘Settings and privacy.’
  • Now, under ‘Data and permissions,’ you would find the option ‘Your Twitter Data.’ Click on it.
  • Type your password in the field specified and pick ‘Confirm.’
  • After doing so, navigate to the ‘Twitter’ section and click on the ‘Request archive’ button next to it and wait. Under ‘Twitter,’ there is the option to request and download Periscope data as well. Clicking on the ‘Request archive’ button beside it will take you to your Periscope account provided that you got one.
  • When your data is prepared, you will be notified of the same on Twitter as well as via email. All you have to do now is to click on the ‘Download archive’ button to download your data.

Delete Twitter Account Permanently

Picture Source: www.foliovision.com

Conclusion of How to delete Twitter account permanently

conclusions

Now that you know the ways to delete Twitter account permanently, you shouldn’t have any problem saying bye-bye to the platform anymore. Pick either method depending on your preferences, and you’d be good to go. Best of luck!

You may also read

0Shares

Hi, I am Indrajit Das. A freelance content writer from Kolkata, India, who has written for many popular websites and is passionate about the art of content writing. When not writing, one might find him turning the pages and voraciously devouring one of his favorite books.

Advertisement
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Trending